Weeds and Flowers in the Blog Garden

Hey there, internet. Its been awhile! It feels like so long since I wrote on this blog that I started to worry that I’d forget how to do it!

Is anyone out there still listening? Maybe this post will have popped up on your feed and you thought to yourself, “hmm, I remember this lady, she sometimes has half-assed interesting things to say”, and you clicked on the link and here you are! For that click, I say – thank you for coming back.  You look lovely, by the way!

If you’re the type who is curious for answers and are wondering where the heck I’ve been, I’m sorry to disappoint but I really don’t have any great excuses. I’ve been around. You know, lurking on other blogs and generally just staring at my screen, wondering if anything worthwhile will come out onto the page ever again. Oh sure, it’s summer and I’ve been busier than usual enjoying the sunshine but there have been plenty of writer’s block nights, too.

But if you’re reading this, that means I’ve gotten past the hump!

 

So.

 

Oooh, one thing that has been taking up a great deal of time is my summer reading project. A few weeks ago I ordered Stephen King’s Under the Dome from the library. (Sidenote – I’ve become obsessed with borrowing books from the library. I think I’ve saved myself hundreds of dollars in Chapters shopping spree costs.)

Anyway, so one fine summer morning I strolled into the library to pick up the book and was stopped cold when I saw the size of it. The thing is a gigantic brick. Literally I can’t hold it in one hand to read it. It ALMOST stopped me from borrowing it, but I’m so intrigued by the idea of the story (recall – I’m a lover of all things apocalypse) that I couldn’t resist.

However, this book requires me to dedicate some serious reading time to it! I’ve already renewed it from the library once and I’m still only 2/3 of the way through.

Perhaps I’ll do a full book review on it when I’m done, so I won’t say much about the plot for now except that I’m both hooked on it and repulsed by it. You know, that delicious way where an author has so successfully drawn you into the story and into the characters that when bad things happen, you almost can’t watch? At one point I put off reading the book for about 3 days because I couldn’t face the bad thing that I knew was coming in the story.

It’s probably not even worth saying that the book is so finely written, because it’s Stephen King and the man is a genius. But the wonderful thing about a sharply written story is that it provokes, in those of us with the small little writer living inside them, the desire to once again think about possibly contemplating at some point in the remaining 40 years or so of life that I might perhaps attempt to write something that will end up being one gazillionth as good.

It’s a fantastic dream, to be a writer. It’s something that is always there, right at the tip of your fingers but so far out of reach. You could realistically sit down one Sunday morning and hammer out the first chapter of a bestseller (well, maybe that’s not SO realistic, but it worked for JK Rowling, right?). So it’s great when a book renews that dream just a bit.

So, that’s about it. That’s what I’ve been doing! Sitting in the sunshine on my deck, reading books, thinking about (but not actually doing any) writing, and enjoying life.

I’m sorry again that it’s been awhile since I tended to this little blog garden. There are probably a few weeds in this post, but most of the flowers are still blooming and it’s sure nice to be back. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weeds and Flowers in the Blog Garden

Leave a Reply

