Can you spare a moment?

I woke up bright and early Tuesday morning after a four-day weekend, ready to head back to work for a short work week. As I drove to work, I planned out my work day and eagerly looked forward to getting home so I could work on a blog post. Feeling a bit tired after work I nonetheless dragged myself to the gym, thinking I would get home afterwards, have a shower and dinner and spend an hour working on a blog post. I got home from the gym, walked the dog, talked to the neighbours, had dinner and spent some time with my husband, and looked at the clock finally at 8:30pm; wanting nothing more than to read a few pages of my book in bed and drift off to sleep, I determined to spend some time on the blog on Wednesday night.

Wednesday morning I woke up bright and early. I made it into the office before my regular time, happy that this meant I could leave a bit early and get to the gym before it got to busy; this also meant I could get home a bit earlier and have some extra time to play around with some story ideas or work on that blog post that was lingering. I managed to get to get out of the office 30 minutes later than I wanted, but still went to the gym (gold star!). I headed home afterwards, walked the dog, had a shower, had dinner and spent some time with my husband. I did some laundry that had built up over the weekend. I looked at the clock; it was almost 9:00pm and all I wanted was to curl up in bed with my book for a few minutes and get to sleep.

Thursday morning I woke up bright and early…. Well, you get my drift here, right?

Our lives are so filled with daily routines and essential chores, that we are forced to schedule in the things that bring us the most pleasure. I’m talking about down time with our spouse or children or spending time with friends. Playing in the yard with the dog. Indulging in the creative pursuits that linger in our minds while we’re whiling away the hours at the office. How does one find the energy to fit it all in?

Where do I pencil in "Life"?
Where do I pencil in “Life”?

This is something I’ve started to mull over as I’ve considered the direction of my career. I’ve previously written about questioning the path I’ve chosen and the desire to do something that engages a more creative part of my brain; the sad reality is that right now, I couldn’t leave my job even if I worked up the courage to do so. Hubby and I depend too much on the income and the benefits.

So instead, I’ve got to find a way to organize my life to fit in as much as possible of the things I really want to be doing. It’s a great idea in theory, but unfortunately there just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day!

So much of our lives are dictated by our responsibilities. It’s easy to become a bit depressed or at least just overwhelmed or numb to it all: get up, go to work, come home, sleep, repeat. Too often there is not enough energy (mental OR physical energy) left over to do the things that bring us joy.

Since I am not one of those people with the boundless pep that allows them to work late into the night, I’ve had to wrestle with myself to find some acceptance in the schedule of my life right now. For me, part of it means setting realistic goals (some weeks I’ll write three or four nights a week, some weeks I have to be satisfied if I just find the time to READ the blogs I enjoy). This also means cutting myself some slack when I don’t get to do everything I want to do (hey, just getting to the gym twice in four days is an accomplishment in my world!).

But acceptance also means that I look for ways to do more of what I love, because it means that I acknowledge that certain things are essential for my happiness. Finding time to do some writing is one of those things, and I know that I have to fit it in somehow or I start to get antsy.

How do the rest of you find the time to do all the things you love? I’d really love to hear how you try to make it all work!

5 thoughts on “Can you spare a moment?

  1. That’s great post, to be honest, I can do all I want somehow, I really don’t know how. I am over 30 but single – that is not good to much. Maybe you should try to be profesional blogger, that would be great and you could have an extra money. For someone, that is a full time job. Wish you all the best 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! I would love to be a professional blogger but I don’t know how I’d pay the bills until I started earning a decent living! But it’s definitely an idea that I keep in mind! Thanks for reading, and by the way – I love your blog too! The photos always make me smile. 🙂

      Like

  2. I was in your predicament a few years back, but a flirtation with cancer and losing my mother forced me to re-evaluate life. Putting my passions first and ensuring what time I have left on this globe is something filled with love and happiness. I’ve taken a critical eye to my lifestyle, asked about the value of everything, and worked out new priorities… it wasn’t an easy process (and I had to make some sacrifices – but in hindsight weren’t sacrifices at all). It left me with more fulfilment every day and the satisfaction that I’m getting to follow my dreams.

    I still struggle with finding enough time to fit in everything I wish to complete, but the guilt is insignificant for tasks undone.

    Without getting too deep, something has got to give – just make sure it’s not the thing that makes you smile.

    Like

    1. Isn’t it sad that we wait for the tragic events in life to take steps to ensure that we’re really living how we want to live and treasuring the things that are truly important? I really identify with your comment that “the guilt is insignificant for tasks undone”. That is way more than half the battle right there!
      Every day it’s about making sure to keep priorities straight! Thanks so much for your lovely comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

