Well hello there, 2014!

Here it is, a brand new year.  What will 2014 bring?  Where will we all go and what will we do?  Only time will tell.  Isn’t it exciting?!

But, it also doesn’t hurt to do a little planning ahead.

If you’ve read my most recent posts you know about my little 2014 resolution – I’m going to try to write a little something on most days every week.  Editing and rough notes count.  On bad days, just thinking about what I’ll write tomorrow will count.  On really bad days, perhaps just reading what other people write will count.  If this is what it feels like to be your own boss, why the hell have I been working for someone else all these years?

So while I won’t be making other “resolutions” this year, I’m going to give myself certain challenges basically in the aim of just becoming a better and happier person.  And because sharing is caring, I’m going to put them out there to the world and if anyone reading this wants to join me in a challenge, the more the merrier!

  1.  Read fifty books this year – and review them!  I started this blog because I love reading and I love writing and I think this is a great way to combine those joys.
  2. Call my best friend way more often.  She’s pretty awesome.
  3. Stop judging myself against other women.  Too often I find myself thinking that so-and-so is prettier/thinner/better dressed/smarter/funnier/better than me.  I’d rather be thinking that so-and-so is pretty/healthy/stylish/smart/funny/awesome, period.  Let 2014 be the year without judgement!
  4. Eat better and exercise just because.  No weight loss or push-up or race time goals, just for feeling good.
  5. Make my marriage better.  Nag and argue less, laugh and love more.
  6. Work on writing a full story.  No page or word count goals, just a complete start-to-finish story.
  7. Get brave enough to send said-story out into the world for review.
  8. Have more parties.  Does much more really need to be said about this one?
  9. Accept that my dogs are not perfect (I bark, therefore I am), but work on making them better – without expectation that they actually WILL get better, and frankly they are already pretty fantastic so just enjoy that too.
  10. Win the lottery.

 

Finnigan
Finnigan says Happy 2014!
Copper
Copper wishes you all the best in the New Year!

There we have it.  2014: The Year of the Ten Fantastic Challenges.  Let’s get it started!

 

3 thoughts on “Well hello there, 2014!

      1. Thanks so much..I’m still amazed that anyone finds my stuff interesting. That has been the best gift of all this past couple of months. Very cool indeed! Hugs 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

